Anbar El Mokri X marocMaroc

-July 2021-

Anbar El Mokri X marocMaroc, the collab that is jazzing up our packaging

At 25, Anbar El Mokri embodies, with poetry and determination, the new wave of artists who are stepping onto the Moroccan neo-artisanal and artistic scene. Increasingly in demand for her vases which flaunt abstract shapes and cheerful colors, the young painter has now created unprecedented temporary packaging for the Hope box with marocMaroc. The perfect opportunity to discover the person hiding behind this passionately creative temperament.

Where are you from Anbar? 

I was born in Ottawa and grew up between Rabat and Casablanca. I came back from Canada two and a half years ago and since then I have been living between Casablanca and Marrakesh.

Tell me about your childhood. 

From a very young age, I was immersed in a creative and harmonious environment. My dad has always played several musical instruments (guitar, piano, bass), and my mum (Ghizlaine Chraïbi, editor’s note), who is a psychotherapist, has written several novels and also paints – she will actually be exhibiting her work in Casablanca next March. So, you could say that artistic expression has always been part of my everyday life.

What did you study?

I have a Bachelor’s degree in political science, specializing in the Middle East, from the Concordia University in Montreal. I then worked in event planning and communication, in particular social media, experiences which taught me a lot.

Why painting?

Because it allows me to tell stories, some personal, some not so personal, through color but also composition. I really love colors. For a long time, I worked with warm colors, probably because of the incredible light we are blessed with every day in Morocco.

Your style? 

 I have always had a penchant for abstract art, which gives me freedom when it comes to technique, which is extremely cathartic. A way of expressing certain emotions, painting is more about dexterity rather than precision, a powerful way of symbolizing what is real. Recently, however, I have immersed myself in reproducing the landscapes that surround me, resulting in figurative and detailed creations. I am exploring this approach with a lot of enthusiasm.

Your inspirations? 

Nature! The branches of a tree, flowers, the sunsets… I like living things because they belong to all of us, things we all share. I believe profoundly in the power of shared experiences.

What led you to work with ceramics?  

I started to paint on ceramic last year after a stay in Marrakesh during which I realized that artisans had completely stopped working since the start of the coronavirus crisis. I impulsively bought a lot of vases and other models, telling myself that I would find something to do with them. I discovered a real passion for painting on ceramic, which opened up other dimensions than painting on canvas. Since then, painting on objects has become an integral part of my activity and I intend to pursue this path.

What does it mean to be a young female artist in Morocco in 2021? 

Creating your own pathway, giving yourself the means to follow it and make a living from it.

What is most rewarding on a daily basis? 

Trying out new formats and meeting other people from the same field.

If you hadn’t been a painter, what would you have done? 

I would have continued as an event planner; even though I am convinced that one day, I would have become a painter.

How did this collaboration with marocMaroc start? 

The brand contacted me to work with them on developing an original and temporary packaging and I immediately loved the idea. Our values are shared because the marocMaroc universe has the ability to wow, which is something very important to me and which I am trying to pass on in my own way through my painting.

A heart, a leaf, a glimpse of the sun, this capsule packaging is an ode to nature, to pastel tones. What are the reasons behind these choices? 

Because they are symbols of wellness, hope, and reconciliation with nature. Through its DNA, marocMaroc invites you to look after yourself; an approach which seems essential to me in our busy everyday life. We often tend to move forward like robots, without taking the time to look inwards. It is vital to know how to take a break, to learn to think of yourself.

Your plans? 

I hope to further develop the “Studio” dimension of my activity, with more objects and new collaborations. As for painting, 2021 will be the year I dig deeper and learn more.

And where do you see yourself in 10 years? 

Still with a paintbrush in my hand!

Interviewed by Éléonore A. Bénit, journalist and influencer


magazine-marocmaroc-aspect-ratio-0-0

Free samples

for each order

Secure payment

3D secure

Sign up for our newsletter

Keep in touch with updates, expert beauty tips, and a first look at new products.

Sign up for our newsletter

Be the first to discover our highlights and new products, stay up to date with the brand news and join the community… Get 10% of discount as soon as you become member : Newsletter

Sans titre (13)

Take care of your hair!

From the 1st  to the 31st of October

Get a colorful silk scrunchie with every order over 50€/ 550 dhs

Shop now

Anbar El Mokri X marocMaroc

COLLAB 022

-Juillet 2021-

Anbar El Mokri X marocMaroc, la collab’ qui donne du peps à nos coffrets

 À 26 ans, Anbar El Mokri incarne avec poésie et détermination la nouvelle vague de créateurs qui montent sur la scène néo-artisanale et artistique marocaine. De plus en plus plébiscitée pour ses vases aux formes abstraites et joyeusement colorés, la jeune peintre signe aujourd’hui une édition limitée du coffret Hope. L’occasion d’aller voir qui se cache derrière ce tempérament passionnément créatif.

D’où venez-vous Anbar ?

Je suis née à Ottawa, j’ai grandi entre Rabat et Casablanca. Depuis mon retour il y a trois ans et demi du Canada, je vis entre Casablanca et Marrakech.

A quoi ressemblait votre enfance ?

J’ai baigné toute petite dans un environnement créatif et harmonieux. Mon père joue depuis toujours de plusieurs instruments (guitare, piano, basse) et ma mère (Ghizlaine Chraïbi, ndlr), qui est psychothérapeute, a écrit plusieurs romans et peint également – elle a d’ailleurs exposé en mars dernier à Casablanca. Autant dire que l’expression artistique a toujours fait partie de mon quotidien.

Quelle est votre formation ?

J’ai un Bachelor en sciences politiques spécialité Moyen-Orient à l’université Concordia de Montréal. J’ai ensuite travaillé dans la production événementielle et dans la communication, notamment sur les réseaux sociaux, des expériences très formatrices.

Pourquoi la peinture ?

Parce qu’elle me permet de raconter des histoires, plus ou moins personnelles, à travers la couleur mais aussi la composition. Je suis une vraie amoureuse de la couleur. J’ai longtemps travaillé les couleurs chaudes, probablement en raison de la lumière incroyable dans laquelle nous sommes baignés au quotidien quand on vit au Maroc.

Votre style ?
J’ai toujours eu un penchant pour l’abstrait, qui me permet une liberté de geste très cathartique. Une façon d’exprimer certaines émotions, une peinture de geste plus que de précision, un moyen puissant de symboliser le réel. Ces derniers temps en revanche, je me suis plongée dans l’interprétation des paysages qui m’entourent, donnant lieu à des créations figuratives et détaillées. J’explore cette voie avec beaucoup d’engouement.

Vos inspirations ?

La nature ! Les branches d’un arbre, les fleurs, le soleil qui se couche…J’aime le vivant car c’est notre bien à tous et il est commun à chacun d’entre nous. Je crois profondément au pouvoir des expériences partagées.

Comment en êtes-vous venue à la céramique ? 

J’ai commencé à peindre sur de la céramique après un passage à Marrakech ; au cours duquel je me suis rendue compte que l’activité des artisans était totalement à l’arrêt depuis la crise du coronavirus. J’ai impulsivement acheté beaucoup de vases et autres modèles en me disant que je parviendrai bien à en faire quelque chose. Je me suis vraiment découvert une passion pour la peinture sur céramique, qui ouvre d’autres dimensions que la peinture sur toile. Peindre sur des objets est depuis devenu une partie intégrante de mon activité et je compte bien continuer sur cette voie.

Qu’est-ce que veut dire être une jeune femme artiste au Maroc en 2021 ?

Se créer une voie, et se donner tous les moyens nécessaires pour la suivre et en vivre.

Qu’est-ce qui est le plus enrichissant au quotidien ?

Expérimenter de nouveaux formats et rencontrer d’autres acteurs du même milieu.

Si vous n’aviez pas été peintre ?

J’aurais continué dans la production événementielle ; même si je reste persuadée qu’un jour ou l’autre, je serais quand même devenue peintre.

Comment est née cette collaboration avec marocMaroc ?

La marque m’a contacté pour élaborer en collaboration un packaging original et éphémère et j’ai tout de suite été enchantée par l’idée. Nos valeurs sont communes car l’univers de marocMaroc possède cette capacité d’émerveillement qui me parle beaucoup, et que j’essaye de transmettre à ma façon à travers ma peinture.

Un cœur, une feuille, l’amorce d’un soleil, ce packaging-capsule est une ode à la nature, aux tonalités pastel, pourquoi ce choix ?

Parce que ce sont des symboles de bien-être, d’espoir et de réconciliation avec la nature. À travers son ADN, marocMaroc invite à prendre soin de soi ; une approche qui me parait essentielle dans notre quotidien qui va à toute vitesse. On a souvent tendance à avancer en mode automatique, sans prendre le temps de l’introspection. Savoir s’offrir une pause, apprendre à penser à soi me parait indispensable.

Vos projets ?

J’espère développer encore plus la dimension « Studio » de mon activité, avec toujours plus d’objets et de nouvelles collaborations. Côté peinture, 2021 est pour moi l’année de l’approfondissement et de l’apprentissage.

Et dans 10 ans, où vous voyez-vous ?

Toujours un pinceau à la main !

Article Mag marocMaroc Propos recueillis par Éléonore A. Bénit, journaliste et influenceuse

 


copie-de-sans-titre-5-aspect-ratio-0-0
echantillon

Échantillons offerts

pour chaque commande

secure

Paiement sécurisé

3D secure

Inscrivez vous à notre Newsletter

Découvrez en avant-première nos moments forts et nouveautés, suivez la vie de la marque et rejoignez la communauté….

Rejoignez la communauté marocMaroc !

Découvrez en avant-première nos nouveautés et les actualités de notre programme Wellness by marocMaroc.

Vert tasse de café citations Instagram publication

Bonnes fêtes !

Du 1er au 31 décembre inclus

Dès 80€/850Dhs d’achat, recevez gratuitement deux produits en format voyage. Une routine skincare aboutie est le premier pas vers des fêtes réussies !

J'en profite !